Words & Eccentricities

Patterns and Bustles: My first school project!

I know I have been in hibernation again but its been a productive one! πŸ™‚ A few months ago, I enrolled in a fashion course at the Fashion Institute of the Philippines to finally honor a childhood dream fueled by paper dolls, notebooks full of scribbles and a love for Jem and the Holograms, and its been a whirlwind romance since then. Now I get to daydream about whimsical oddities for school projects, and splurge on the luxuries of art supplies without feeling guilty because its basically a “school requirement”.

For my first project in advance pattern-making, we had to make a garment with a Steampunk theme (to my delight of course, I’m such a sucker for all things vintage). Below is the product of a two-month crash course in basic fashion design, I think its adorably amateur but there’s always a first time for everything, right?

1461312_10201093829164280_428525238_n

I patterned a halter shirt with a stand-up collar and I used nude metallic tulle to play up the floating leather cut-out appliques. The mischievous mess of dark purple chiffon is my take on the Victorian bustle, hiked up way above the knee and gathered in several places to show off the legs. (this is my first attempt at draping, so be kind, hahaha).

IMG_9674 IMG_9675

After several days of messed up REM cycles, the finished product looked like this! πŸ™‚ You may remember my DIY pillbox hat from a few entries back, its become pretty useful. haha

IMG_9676

My new-found passion is bit like Nursing too. There are scissors, and needles but less gore, πŸ™‚ And I don’t have to wear white shoes!
IMG_9680

IMG_9682

I spotted some bronze buttons on sale so I added a makeshift “steampunk spine” to hide the back zipper…IMG_9683

And yes, never forget the power of good metallic spray paint to transform odds and ends into Steampunk gear, πŸ™‚

IMG_9685

IMG_9684

These are some raw shots from our shoot, ( I made that metallic skirt in under an hour when I saw that the clumps of chiffon can’t possibly look wholesome without anything underneath, hahaha)

1000360_768020753215361_787210415_n

1464136_768020923215344_1099722386_n

Cheers to first projects and second chances! πŸ™‚

Credits: HMUA- Nia Laureano, Edel Cabizares Santiago

Photography: Jose Paolo Honrado

Model: Arie Reyes

Location: Klaire Reyes Yapyuco

2 thoughts on “Patterns and Bustles: My first school project!

Leave a Reply

